DeGale and Groves: War of words

18 03 2011

DeGale v Groves: Bad blood

James DeGale and George Groves met on Sky Sports Ringside last night to discuss their upcoming fight.

After watching these two go at it, I can’t wait for the May 21st showdown. You can literally feel the animosity between the two and I can see this ending in a KO for someone, with my money leaning towards DeGale at this stage.

I must admit, even though I am a DeGale fan his antics on Ringside left me feeling a bit annoyed. DeGale came across as childish, while Groves seemed very focussed and much more grown up.

But it did remind me of the build up between Floyd Mayweather and Ricky Hatton with Mayweather boasting and bragging while Hatton remained calm and collected throughout.

And we all remember what happened with that fight.

Watch the segment from Ringside below:

Simple question for boxing fans; Who are YOU picking? vote in the boxing poll selection or feel free to leave comments.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 03 2011
Gagan

Going to be closer then people think, but i still think DeGale will stop him but it’ll be late on in the fight 9th or 10th, Groves conditioning is terrible from the fights I’ve seen.

18 03 2011
sweetscienceuk

Yeh after watching the interview and DeGale backing down once Groves accepted the bet left me feeling a bit unsure. If he was really that confident, I think he would have accepted but you never know.

I do think DeGale will stop him, like you said in the later rounds. I think Groves will get frustrated and end up charging in and get caught, i.e. like Hatton did against Mayweather.

Leave a Reply

