“The ref didn’t warn me” – Khan

16 12 2011

Khan docked points

Following his controversial split decision defeat to Lamont Peterson, Amir Khan is continuing his protest by lodging a complaint with the commission.

Now before any jumps at me and claims this is a witch hunt against Khan; it isn’t.

I give Khan all the credit in the world. He’s done fantastically well to get to where he has following the devastating loss against Peterson and I give him credit for always wanting to fight the best.

But I just don’t understand where Amir is coming from on this.

He told Sky Sports (around the 2.10 mark for those who want to get straight into it):

Now you’ve clearly heard him say it’s the first time he’s been warned and that the referee took him to the side and took the point off without any warning. Correct?!?

Here’s another interview with the panel at Ringside:

Again it’s a similar sort of story, with Amir feeling as though he should have been warned.

Now from what I remember of the fight, Khan was continually warned before the 1st point was deducted and continually warned again until the 2nd point was deducted.

But don’t take my word for it, here’s the proof:

Now to be fair I understand Khan being worried about a potential head butt from Peterson but to my recollection Peterson has never been warned or even known for any head butting tendencies (I could be wrong).

But at the same time should it have been that big a concern? There were many times where Peterson’s head wasn’t low but there was still pushing from Khan.

Khan has all the tools to be a really good boxer but all this talk of fighting a Mayweather or Pacquaio has to stop. If I’m honest, if Khan does make the step up to 147 he’s going to struggle if his weaknesses aren’t corrected.

I don’t see the guy beating a Victor Ortiz, Juan Manuel Marquez (the fight could be made at a similar catch weight as the Pacquaio fight) and even a Timothy Bradley. Now I did pick Khan to beat Bradley prior to the Peterson fight and I still think he can but considering how badly Khan struggles against pressure fighters, Bradley would give Khan all sorts of problems; especially if Khan doesn’t correct these weaknesses exposed by Peterson.

On a separate note I was a bit disappointed with the interview the Ringside panel gave Amir Khan. Jim Watt, who I believed called the fight, wasn’t there. Now I’m not Jim Watt’s biggest fan but he was the commentator who seemed to be aware of the referee’s warning.

Now to me the panel here didn’t press Khan about this issue and just allowed him to slide away. I have great respect for Adam Smith because I believe he’s done a great job for British Boxing. The same goes for Johnny Nelson.

But I just felt as though they’ve let Amir escape a little here. Maybe that’s to do with the fact they don’t want to upset the guy seeing as he’s still signed to Sky Sports for two more fights but I don’t know.

However, if I was Amir I’d concentrate on getting a rematch with Peterson. Train hard, don’t overlook him and work on your weaknesses.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

